LERA conducts annual elections for its officers and and members of the Executive Board. Terms begin and end in June, in conjunction with the LERA Annual Meetings. LERA accepts nominations from LERA members continuously; you can submit your nominations for candidates here: https://illinois.edu/fb/sec/4537637

LERA Officers 2021-22
Wilma Liebman, President, Former Chair, NLRB
Paul F. Clark, President-elect, Professor, Pennsylvania State University
Adrienne Eaton, Past-President, Rutgers University

Andrew Weaver, Secretary-Treasurer (non-voting), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
William Canak, NCAC Chair (non-voting), Middle Tennessee State University (ret.)
J. Ryan Lamare, Editor-in-Chief (non-voting)
, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Members of LERA Executive Board (3-year term)
Daniel Altchek (2019-2022), Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP 
Peter Berg, (2021-2024), Michigan State University
Julie Farb (2020-2023), AFL-CIO
Janet Gillman (2021-2024), Oregon Employment Relations Board
Shannon Gleeson (2020-2023), Cornell University
Kati Griffith (2019-2022), Cornell University
Quenton Herbert (2021-2024), City of Baltimore
Erin Johansson
(2019-2022), Jobs With Justice
Tamara Lee (2020-2023), Rutgers University
Kevin Legel
(2021-2023), Ford Motor Co.
Deborah Mueller (2021-2024), CSEA Local 1000 AFSCME
Javier Ramirez 
(2020-2023), Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
Christine Riordan, (2021-2024), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jake Rosenfeld (2019-2022), Washington University in St. Louis
Palak Shah (2021-2022), National Domestic Workers Alliance

Regional Vice Presidents and Members of the LERA Executive Board (3-year term)
Jim Pruitt (2017-24), Kaiser Permanente (West Region)
Beverly Harrison (2020-2023), Arbitrator/Mediator (East Region)

Robert Chiaravalli (2019-2022), Strategic Labor and HR LLC (Mid Region)

UCIRHRP Chair and Member of the LERA Executive Board (3-year term)
Marc Weinstein (2021-2024), Florida International University

LERA Committee Chairs (appointed)

  • Development Committee Co-Chairs Jim Pruitt, Kaiser Permanente and Harry Katz, Cornell University
  • Membership Committee Co-Chairs David Lewin, UCLA and Tazewell Hurst, IAMAW
  • Award Committee Co-Chairs – Janice Bellace, University of Pennsylvania and Rosemary Batt, Cornell University
  • Nominating Committee Chair – Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld, Brandeis University
  • LERA Annual Meeting Program Committee Chair Paul F. Clark, Pennsylvania State University
  • [email protected] Meeting Program Committee Co-Chairs – William Rodgers III, Rutgers Univ., and Abigail Wozniak, Federal Reserve of Minneapolis

Past LERA Presidents

Adrienne Eaton, 2020-21
Dennis Dabney, 2019-20
Kris Rondeau, 2018-19
Harry Katz, 2017-18

Janice Bellace, 2016-17

Bonnie Prouty Castrey, 2015-16
Martin Mulloy, 2014-15
Lisa Lynch, 2013-14
David Lewin, 2012-13
Gordon Pavy, 2011
Eileen Appelbaum, 2010
Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld, 2009
Anthony Oliver Jr., 2008
Eileen B. Hoffman, 2007
David Lipsky, 2006
Stephen Sleigh, 2005
Marlene K. Heyser, 2004
Paula Voos, 2003
John F. Burton Jr., 2002
Magdalena Jacobsen, 2001
Sheldon Friedman, 2000
Thomas A. Kochan, 1999
F. Donal O'Brien, 1998
Francine Blau, 1997
Hoyt T. Wheeler, 1996
Walter Gershenfeld, 1995
Lynn R. Williams, 1994
George Strauss, 1993
Ernest J. Savoie, 1992
James L. Stern, 1991
Robert B. McKersie, 1990
Joyce Miller, 1989
Phyllis A. Wallace, 1988
Michael H. Moskow, 1987
Lloyd Ulman, 1986
Everett Kassalow, 1985
Wayne L. Horvitz, 1984
Jack Stieber, 1983
Milton Derber, 1982
Rudolph A. Oswald, 1981
Jack Barbash, 1980
Jerome M. Rosow, 1979
Charles C. Killingsworth, 1978
F. Ray Marshall, 1977
Irving Bernstein, 1976
Nat Goldfinger, 1974
Douglas H. Soutar, 1973
Benjamin Aaron, 1972
Georg Hildebrand, 1971
Douglass V. Brown, 1970
Frederick Harbison, 1969
George Shultz, 1968
Neil W. Chamberlain, 1967
Arthur Ross, 1966
Edwin Young, 1965
Solomon Barkin, 1964
William F. Whyte, 1963
Charles Myers, 1962
John Dunlop, 1960


Ryan Lamare, University of Illinois, 2020−
Ariel Avgar, University of Illinois, 20152019
Françoise Carré and Christian Weller, University of Massachusetts Boston. 2010-2014
Adrienne E. Eaton, Rutgers University, 2003−2009
Paula B. Voos, Rutgers University, 1995−2002
John F. Burton, Jr., Rutgers University, 1990−1994
Barbara Dennis, University of Wisconsin, 1977−1989
Barbara Dennis and James Stern, University of Wisconsin, 1974−1977
Gerald G. Somers, University of Wisconsin, 1957−1974
L. Reed Tripp, University of Wisconsin, 1951−1956
Milton Derber, University of Illinois, 1948−1950


Andrew Weaver, University of Illinois, 2020
Ryan Lamare, University of Illinois, 2018-2019
Craig Olsen, University of Illinois, 20152017
Peter Feuille, University of Illinois, 2000−2014
David R. Zimmerman, University of Wisconsin, 19772000
Richard U. Miller, University of Wisconsin, 19731977
James L. Stern, University of Wisconsin, 19681969
David B. Johnson, University of Wisconsin, 19631972
Edwin Young, University of Wisconsin, 19541962
Robben W. Fleming, University of Wisconsin, 19511953
William H. McPherson, University of Wisconsin, 19481950